Iota Sigma Chapter

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Charter Members Left to Right: Shanetha House, Shalea Griggs, Carla Gleaton, Jerrilynae Pointer, Marisa Walker, Terrilyn Scott, Lameka Nalls
Iota Sigma Chapter History: In the fall of 2002 Bro. Cedric Roberts and Bro. Donald Wortham of the Treacherous Tri Beta Chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. approached a few co-eds about chartering a chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. With the interested young women and the support of the Clayton State chapter of Phi Beta Sigma; the national headquarters of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was contacted. In the Spring of 2003, the first official interest meeting was sponsored by Tri Beta in conjunction with the Sigma Omega Zeta graduated chapter. These graduate members were very excited at the prospect of helping to form a new chapter of their beloved organization. The graduates exposed the interested co-eds to many aspects of sorority life to include social and community service events; they even invited the interest to accompany them to a step show.

Eventually five qualified interested women were found and began the journey to find the light of Zeta. Early on, one was lost, but four continued on in the pursuit of sisterhood. Finally in the Spring of 2003, on April 14 9:10pm, four CSU students became associate members of Sigma Omega Zeta Chapter. They would become known as The G.E.M.Z., the Alpha class of Sigma Omega Zeta Chapter. The 5 GEMZ-Spring 2003 (Sigma Omega Zeta, Alpha line)
1 Lameka Nalls- Emerald
2 Terrilyn Scott-Topaz
3 Marisa Walker-Sapphire
4 Carla Gleaton-Ruby
5 Andrea Sipe-Amethyst *Graduated Member So, the four went to work, hosting events to garner interest in the organization. Finally after a successful interest meeting, two more women began to seek the light of Zeta. In Spring of 2004, The Quiet Storm also became associate members of Sigma Omega Zeta. Quiet Storm-Spring 2004 (Sigma Omega Zeta, Beta line)
1 LeAnn Harvey- Blue Sky* Graduated Member
2 Jerilynae Pointer-Blue Tranquility
3 Shanetha House-Blue WhiZper
On Sunday, April 17, 2005, 7 dynamic and BLUEtiful young ladies made history as they became the charter members of the Iota Sigma chapter at Clayton State University. The charter memebers consisted of the 6 associate members of Sigma Omega Zeta graduate chapter and one transfer sorority sister from University of Alabama, Birmingham. Their names are:
Carla Gleaton
Shalea Griggs
Shanetha House
Lameka Nalls
Jerilynae Pointer
Terrilyn Scott
Marisa Walker